Utkal, Rajesh, Koustuv & Tapan selected to represent Odisha in forthcoming National.

The top-seeded Utkal Ranjan Sahoo, 2332 of Puri stayed unbeaten in the entire championship & scored 7.5 out of 8, beat Tapan Badamundi, and clinched the Championship trophy with a cash prize of 10,000/-. The third seed Rajesh Nayak, 2183, Puri drew with the 2nd seed FIDE Master Soumyaranjan Mishra scored 6.5 with 5 wins & 3 draws with tiebreak positioned Runner-up & awarded ₹7,000/. The 8th seed Koustuv Dash, 1873 of Khordha, became 2nd Runner-up & bagged 5,000 with Trophy 6 wins, 1 draw. Finally, the top four players will represent Odisha in the forthcoming National Senior Chess Championship 2022, which will be held in New Delhi on 22 December 2022 for the prize amount of ₹ 30,00,000/- (Thirty lacs).

The Championship concluded with Valedictory ceremony-cum-Prize Distribution, at 08:00 P.M. on 08 November 2022. The Chief Guest was Shri Ranjan Mohanty, Joint Secretary, All India Chess Federation, Guest of Honour Sj. Debabrata Bhatta, Hony. Secretary, All Odisha Chess Association; Other dignitaries who graced the occasion on the last day were Sj. Sarosh BodhanwalSecretary, Balasore ClubSj. Arun Khandelwal, Sports Secretary, Balasore Club; Sj. Prakash Kumar Mohanty, Vice President, Balasore Club; Sj. Sashi Bhusan Mishra, President, LIONS Club of Balasore Sand CitySj. Pradipta Kumar PandaWorking President, BDCASj Manoranjan PandaHon. Secretary, BDCA.Sj Sandeep SamantarayE.C. Member, AOCA; Sj. Debasis ChakrabartyPresident, BDCASj. Pradipta Kumar Panda, C.A., Working President, BDCA; Sj. Manoranjan Panda, Secretary, BDCA; Sj. Aiswarya Kumar Senapati, Treasurer, BDCA; Sj. Prabal Kanti Maity, BDCA.

National Participant’s & Results

Utkal Ranjan SahooPuri8.5/1317
Rajesh Nayak Puri3.5/13180
Koustuv DashKhordha7.0/1371
Tapan Kumar BadamundiGajapati6.0/13111
Nilsu PattnaikCuttack6.5/1387
Aryan Arnav SamantrayBalasore5.0/13150