Organised by: Kendrapara District Chess Association

Venue: Gouri Shankar Hotel, Tinimuhani, Kendrapara

Date: 20 & 21 May 2023

Entree Fee: ₹ 400/- (Rupees four hundred only.)

Eligible: Only female players of Odisha are eligible.

State Qualifiers

The top (4) players will be selected to represent Odisha State in the forthcoming National Women at to be held at Gujarat from 30th June – 10th July 2023.


IA Jyoti Shankar Nanda, 9439490922 (WhatsApp)

SNA Pinky Mohapatra, 9040107060

Emergency Contacts

Shri Narayan Das, Jt. Secretary, KDCA : 99374 66755

Shri Lalat Keshari Samal , Vice President , KDCA : 93373 95004

Shri Dharanidhar Sethy , Vice President , KDCA : 94384 12372

Shri Hadibandhu Singh, Working President, KDCA: 99371 62995

Shri Bhabesh Mohanty , Secretary, KDCA : 82490 73810

Shri Debabrata Swain , President , KDCA : 99379 09909

Odisha State Women Chess Tournament 2023 and 8th Kendrapara Dsitrict Chess Championship 2023 in the Loving memory of Suman Das is organized by Kendrapara District Chess Association under the guidance of All Odisha Chess Association. Total 34 No of participants participated in State Women Chess event including 10 Women rated players from 09 different districts of Odisha and a total of 22 Players participated in the Kendrapara District Chess Championship.

Top Seeded player ( State Women Chess Championship ) – Ms. Smaraki Mohanty of Kendrapara

Top Seeded Player ( Kendrapara District Chess Championship) – Mr. Manas Parida

Inauguration Ceremony:

Chief Guest: Mr. Biswajit Ray, Chess Coach, Odisha

Guest of Honor : –

1. Mr. Manoj Parida , Secretary, Jajpur United Chess Association

2. Mr. Bhabesh Mohanty , Secretary , Kendrapara District Chess Association

3. Mr. Jyoti Shankar Nanda , International Arbiter

4. Mr. Dharanidhar Sethy , Vice President , Kendrapara District Chess Association

5. Mr. Narayan Das , Jt. Secretary , Kendrapara District Chess Association

Total 7 No of Rounds with be played for the State Women Chess Championship and 6 rounds for Kendrapara District Chess Championship.

A total cash prize is Rs 20,000/- along with attracting trophies and Rs 10,000/- cash Prizes for District Championship.

Players from different districts of the state participated in this beautiful event with great enthusiasm.

The match is conducted by IA Jyoti Shankar Nanda as Chief Arbiter along with NA Pinky Mohapatra Nanda as Deputy Chief Arbiter. At the end of 3rd Round of Odisha State Women Chess Championship Ms. Smaraki Mohanty is leading with 3 points along with P Sairupa. Also, at the end of 3rd Round of Kendrapara District Chess Championship Mr. Manas Ranjan Parida, Mr. Chitta Ranjan Jena and Mr. Narayan Das scored 3 points each to lead the table.

Total Rated players (State Women)- 10 with top seeded rating is 1699.

Total Rated players (District)- 05 with top seeded rating is 2044.

Top 4 (after 7th Round)

1Smaraki Mohanty16996.0Kendrapara
2Sandeepa Priyadarshini Sahoo11875.0Cuttack
3Pratyasha Jena12995.0Cuttack
4Yashita Rout16555.0Khordha

Valedictory Ceremoney

The ODISHA STATE WOMEN CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP 2023 & KENDRAPARA DISTRICT CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP 2023 concluded with Valedictory-cum-Prize Distribution Ceremony, at 05:30 P.M. on 21st May 2023 at Hotel Gourisankar Hotel, Tinimuhani Square, Kendrapara.

The following guests were present on the dais gave away the prizes to all the Prize Winners. 

Hon’ble Chief GuestSj. Sanjay Kumar Rath, Former Asst. PF Commissioner, Bhubaneswar.

Guest of Honour:

Sj Satyaranjan Pattnaik, Chess Coach, Biju Pattnaik Awardee

Mr. Ranjan Mohanty, Jt. Secretary, AICF

Mr. Kishore Kumar Panda, President, District BJP, Kendrapara

IA Bhabesh Mohanty, Secy, Kendrapara District Chess Association

Sj. S K Bisoi , Executive Member, AOCA

Sj. Jyoti Shankar Nanda, International Arbiter

Sj. Hadibandhu Singh, Working President, KDCA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *