Birendra Raita of Gajapati clinched the Championship.

The 1st Bishnu Sethi Memorial OPEN Chess Championship was inaugurated by Chief Guest Dr. Pradip Nayak, at Nehru Stadium, Bhadrak on 26th November 2022 at 10:00 A.M. Other dignitaries were Shri Pawan Sharma, Advocate, Social Activist; Shri Tusharkant Dash, Advocate, Social Activist; Jyoti Prakash Mohanty, Youth leader, Shri Bhabesh Mohanty, Treasurer, AOCA; Shri Suvendu Mohapatra, EC Member AOCA & General Secretary Shri Ashok Kumar Parija, Bhadrak District Chess Association.

Total prize fund attracts only 81 participants from 7 districts (Balasore, Bhadrak, Gajapati, Jajpur, Keonjhar, Khordha) are participating including 18 International Rated & 9 Women. The Organiser has made beautiful arrangements with free lunch.

Important Results: In 3rd round Board no.1 Birendra Raita (10th seed) beat top seed Debasis Chakraborty in 31 moves. Second seed Subhendu Kumar Patra was lost from Suraj Kumar Moharana (13 seed) in 44 moves.

Round 4 : 3rd seed Tapan Badamundi lost from Amarendra Khamari, (8th seed)

 3rd board 5th seed Debi Prasad Nayak lost from Birendra Raita.

Round 5: Bo.1 Kamal Lochan Padhi lost from Ashok Kumar Jaju. Bo.3 Birendra Raita lost from Subhendu Kumar Patra.

Round 6: Tapan Badamundi lost from 10th seed Birendra Raita of Gajapti .

Round 7: Bo.2 Top seed Debasis Chakraborty lost from Jyotsnav Talukdar.

Champion: Birendra Raita, Gajapati

Runner-up: Ashok Kumar Jaju, Balasore

Third: Kamal Lochan Padhi, Balasore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *